Clive Rogers Trophy


The final round against the Pioneer Valley boys was played at Mackay Golf Club on Sunday 8th September.
Mackay was victorious in retaining the trophy for 2019.

Players battled through the dust haze with Mackay taking a convincing win of 6/1 with 2 matches squared.
Mackay players, Russell Griffin and partner John Templeton shot the lights out with an outstanding 7/6 win closely followed by Mackay’s Gavin Wesche & Steve McDowall having a similar result winning 6/5.

In the marquee group, Clive Rogers & Jim Bartolo had a tight tussle against Paul Penridge & Andrew Mclauchlan to end up all square after 18 hard fought holes.
Thanks again to Paul Penridge and McKay Solicitors for trophy sponsorship.


Mackay Club was able to retain the trophy.

The conditions at PVGC were dry, windy with quick greens.


Our Mackay Team contested the first round of the Clive Rogers Trophy against long-term rivals Pioneer Valley recently and all went well and in keeping with the Aussie spirit the ever reliable and perfectly timed “sledge” worked wonders for our team.
The “marque pairings”, “number one seeds” or fearless leaders from each club were Peter “Fluff” Woolcock, Paul Penridge of Mackay, Clive Rogers and Jim Bartolo of Sarina.
A big thanks to Ross Kynaston for taking over the running of this event and in turn Ross has asked that we give a big thank-you to Kath Geoghegan for her excellent catering for the day. It was much appreciated by everyone.
The first-round results were well in favour of the home team with a record of six (6) wins, one (1) extremely unlucky loss and two (2) squared matches.
The Mackay Team now eagerly await the return away match scheduled for Sunday 23rd September 2018 at Pioneer Valley to compliment and ultimately complete an MGC victory to claim the “Clive Rogers Trophy” for 2018.
Congratulations to all or our team member: –
Fluff Woolcock, Paul Penrdige, Phil Lakin, George Nuttall, Jacob Haimona, Kev Ireland, Greg Mulhall, Gary Kennedy, Scott Andreassen, Richard Sambell, Rennie Durelli, Steve McDowall, “Chooka” Hennessy, Ross Kynaston, Anthony Perre, Jock O’Callaghan, Dave Bannister and Dave Anderson.


The “Clive Rogers Trophy”, came into being from conception some 5 years ago.

Phil Lakin & Paul Penridge having discussed the time-honoured Kraft Walker Shield (Mackay Club v Sarina Club) inter-club 4BBB Matchplay Competition agreed there was a need to instigate a similar event with our friends and mates up in the Pioneer Valley. Conversations between the Clubs were held and the rest as they say is history. With all the public office & community efforts of Clive Rogers over many years in the Pioneer Valley, it was a done deal that we name the trophy after this local icon. Paul then approached Clive and he was very humbled and delighted to accept this competition concept for both our clubs. Paul was able to secure Mackay Solicitors as our trophy sponsor, which remains today.

The first match was held in 2014 and has continued each year ever since. There are two matches each year with both clubs hosting the travelling side. Teams consist of nine pairs of players (aka choppers) from each club, playing a four-ball match play competition. Match winners receive one point for a victory and 1/2 point for a halved match. Points are tallied over the home and away games leading to an overall yearly winner. To date with the reliable leadership and steadying influence of Captain of Phil Lakin, the Mackay Club has been able to secure victory for the first four years of the competition.

The camaraderie & banter between the two clubs is wonderful and some funny days have been enjoyed by all.

Phil Lakin has succumbed to the pressure of retaining the trophy after four years at the top and has now passed the mantel to an enthusiastic although somewhat trepid Ross Kynaston to manage the running of the competition. Ross has accepted the challenge and vows to work hard to continue to uphold the lofty deeds of Phil’s unbeaten record.

The Mackay Club will host the first round in 2018 set down for the 22nd April, with the return match scheduled for the 23rd September.

All members are eligible to submit their interest in representing the Club at this year’s event. You can seek out Ross and submit your name of simply place your name on the event sheet on the noticeboard near the bar in the Clubhouse.

Ross Kynaston